Loader Hamer
Loader Pad
Loader Effect

Blog Details

Is Florida a no-fault state for personal injury law?

If you live in Florida and drive your own car, chances are you’ve probably come across the term “no-fault insurance” in conversations with friends, neighbors, your insurance agent, or even an accident injury attorney. But what does it really mean, and more importantly, how does it affect you if you find yourself involved in a car accident? So what exactly is the no-fault law in Florida personal injury law?


Under Florida’s current no-fault law, every licensed driver must carry a minimum of $10 000 in their personal injury protection insurance (PIP) to cover their medical expenses and other damages resulting from an accident. This means that in the event of an accident, each driver regardless of their fault, must turn to their own auto insurance coverage to compensate for medical costs and other accident-related expenses. The no-fault insurance covers 80% of medical treatment bills and 60% of lost wages up to the policy limit. Non-emergency treatment expenses are covered up to $2,500 while emergency medical costs are covered up to $10,000.


The new PIP bill SB 586 which was recently signed into law would eliminate the mandatory no-fault auto insurance coverage and introduce new obligations for vehicle owners to maintain the following insurance coverage.

  • A minimum of $25,000 in bodily injury coverage to protect against harm caused to others in an accident.
  • A minimum of $50,000 in coverage for accidents involving two or more people, ensuring sufficient compensation for multiple parties injured in an incident.
  • Medpay coverage with limits of $5,000 to compensate emergency service providers or hospitals for the treatment of accident victims. Notably, this coverage comes with the advantage of no deductible to the insured.


Regardless of what the future holds for Florida’s no-fault system and personal injury law, our priority is to act in your best interests to ensure maximum compensation in your personal injury case. With Kane & Vital accident injury attorneys, you have a reliable partner who will stand up for you every step of the way. Call our law office at +1 (954) 523-5123 or email us at info@kanevital.com to discuss your needs.

Add Comment



Our accident lawyers are focused on helping those hurt in South Florida, especially when the pain was caused by negligent or reckless conduct. Kane & Vital offers simple legal help for injured victims.

Contact Info

+1 (954) 523-5123
6190 NW 11th Street
Sunrise, FL 33313

Follow Us